What is the full form of LDF?

What is the full form of LDF?

LDF: Full form | Left Democratic Front | Latest Update 2021

The full form of LDF is the Left Democratic Front. It is a political term used to denote the coalition of several political parties running the government in Kerala. In 2021 legislative assembly polls, the LDF returned to power with a thumping majority.

The very name Left Democratic Front (LDF) suggests it is a coalition of leftist or Communist parties in Kerala. The term Front means it is a political alliance. Founded by EMS Namboodiripad, the current chairman of LFD is Pinnarayi Vijayan.

Pinnarayi Vijayan is also the Chief Minister of Kerala and a mass leader. The political ideology of LDF is Liberalism, Secularism and Communism.

LDF A Powerful Political Entity in Kerala

 LDF is very strong in Kerala. This has been proved by the successive victory of LDF in different Legislative Assembly Polls in Kerala. The LDF has won state legislative assembly polls in 1980, 1987, 1996, 2006, 2016 and 2021.

The LDF constitutes seven major parties and some smaller parties. The main constituents of LDF are: CPI (M), CPI, KC (M), NCP, JD (S) and INL. It is one of the oldest political blocs to remain in power in Kerala.

LDF: Symbol of Coalition Politics of India

For all practical purposes, the LDF is the symbol of of coalition politics of India. Kerala is one of the very states in India where the coalition politics had been most successful thus setting a record in the country’s political system as an example.

On May 20, 2021, CPI(M) leader Pinarayi Vijayan was sworn in as Kerala Chief Minister for a second time. The anti-incumbency factor did not work in the case of LDF as it returned to power. This is a major success of this political coalition in Kerala. What is more, the LDF registered a resounding poll victory which has further consolidated itself in Kerala.

The Conclusion

The LDF is led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist), one of the strongest political parties of Kerala. The main opposition bloc or coalition of LDF is the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF). It is followed by the National Democratic Alliance or NDA led by the BJP.

What is the full form of KIT

The first LDF Chief Minister of Kerala was E.K. Nayanar who ruled in the terms 1981-81, 1987-91, and 1996-2001. Nayanar was followed by V.S. Achuthanandan who was chief minister of Kerala for 2006-11. After him, Pinnarayi Vijayan came to power in 2016 and also is the current chief minister of the state.

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Question: When did LDF come to power in Kerala for the first time:

Answer: It first came to power in 1980 and also in power currently. This is one of the strongest political fronts of India.

Question: Does LDF has any presence outside Kerala?

Answer: No. It is basically a Kerala-based political front that has no presence outside the state. Thus, it is not a pan-India political front. The LDF never tried to sprawl outside Kerala.

Question: Who was the first LDF chief minister of Kerala?

Answer: The first LDF Chief Minister of Kerala was E.K. Nayanar. He  ruled Kerala for several terms. These terms were: 1981-81, 1987-91 and 1996-2001.

Question: Is there any other Left-Democratic coalition running government in a state?

Answer: No. Kerala is the only state in whole of India where a Left-Democratic coalition is ruling for long.

Question: Which Leftist party leads the LDF?

Answer: It is the Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI-M that leads the Leftist coalition LDF in Kerala. The CPI-M has very strong roots among the masses in Kerala.

Web Tech Mantra

Web Tech Mantra is a team with a lot of experience and research on the digital world, how a website can be useful to the internet users, we studied, analyzed and presented here. We are entirely fascinated with the technology, and we are living our life's with the newly updated technology for 8 years. With all our knowledge, we established a platform to build a proper and trustful rapport with the internet world.